CGA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CGA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • AHLEI currently lists the START Certified Guestroom Attendant Online Course and Exam at $60.
  • The exam is packaged with the training material and is not sold separately.
  • The exam is 30 multiple-choice questions in 1 hour, with a 70% passing score.
  • No prerequisite is listed, so there are no eligibility or application fees to budget for.

The Headline Price: What the START CGA Actually Costs

If you are searching for the cost of the START Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA) credential, the short answer is refreshingly simple. According to current listings from the American Hotel and Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI), the START Certified Guestroom Attendant Online Course and Exam is priced at $60. That single figure is the core of what most candidates will pay to earn the credential.

That makes the CGA one of the most accessible entry points into formal hospitality credentialing. It is designed for individual positions inside a hotel, and the price reflects its role as a front-line, skills-based certification rather than a professional designation that requires months of preparation and several hundred dollars in fees.

Before you assume this is the whole story, though, it is worth understanding what the $60 covers, what it does not, and which details AHLEI has not published. If you are still deciding whether the credential suits you, our guide on what CGA certification is gives useful background first.

Pricing note: The $60 figure comes from current AHLEI listings and may change. Always confirm the price on the official AHLEI certification page at the time you purchase, since packaging and promotions can differ between the AHLEI storefront and partner or program channels.

What Your Fee Includes

The most important structural fact about CGA pricing is that the exam is packaged with the training material and is not sold separately. You are not paying one fee for study content and another for a testing appointment. The online course and the exam come together.

The training component

START is a training-and-certification program built around specific hotel positions. For the Guestroom Attendant, the current AHLEI instructor guide identifies 19 key tasks, including:

  • Understanding and applying room-status codes
  • Safe use of cleaning supplies and chemicals
  • Housekeeping safety and security practices
  • Organizing carts and work areas

The course material is organized around three published training sections: All Employee Knowledge, Position-Specific Knowledge, and Job Breakdowns. These are curriculum headings rather than percentage-weighted exam domains, so treat them as a map of what you will learn, not an official blueprint of exam coverage. Our complete guide to all 3 CGA content areas walks through each one in detail.

The exam component

The exam bundled into your fee has the following published characteristics:

Exam DetailCurrent Published Information
Total price (course + exam)$60 per current AHLEI listings
Number of questions30 multiple-choice
Time allowed1 hour
Passing score70%
PrerequisitesNone listed on the AHLEI certification page
DeliveryAHLEI/START packaged exam delivery
Public pass rateNot publicly disclosed

A 70% passing score on 30 questions means you need to answer at least 21 correctly. For details on how that threshold works in practice, see our breakdown of the CGA passing score.

Costs That Are Not on the Price Tag

A $60 package is easy to budget for, but a few indirect costs can sneak in depending on how you take the program. None of these are fees charged by AHLEI; they are practical considerations.

Testing provider fees: none identified

Many professional certifications route candidates through third-party testing centers, which means a separate seat fee on top of the exam price. For START, the AHLEI materials reviewed do not identify Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric as a third-party provider. The exam is delivered through the AHLEI/START packaged system, so you should not expect a separate test-center booking fee. That said, always read the checkout page, since delivery arrangements are set by AHLEI and its program partners.

Application and eligibility fees: none listed

The current AHLEI certification page lists no qualifying-position prerequisite. That means you generally do not need to prove prior work experience or submit an application for approval before purchasing. If you want to see how open the entry path really is, our article on CGA requirements and eligibility covers it.

Practical, indirect costs

  • Internet access and a device: The online course requires a computer, tablet, or phone with a reliable connection. If you do not have one at home, factor in library or workplace access.
  • Time off or unpaid study time: For hourly housekeepers, the real cost may be study hours you could otherwise have worked. The self-paced format helps, since you can study around shifts.
  • Printed notes or workbook supplies: Optional, but some candidates prefer to print reference material for the job-task sections.
Budget reality check: For most individual candidates, the total out-of-pocket cost is the course-and-exam package itself. There is no evidence in the current AHLEI materials of separate registration, proctoring, or score-reporting fees, but always confirm at checkout.

Who Pays: Employer, Program, or You

One of the most useful things to know about a low-cost, position-specific credential is that you may not have to pay for it yourself. START was built with hotel operators, schools, and workforce programs in mind, and that shapes how the cost is often covered.

Employer-sponsored certification

Hotels that invest in training their housekeeping teams frequently purchase START courses for staff, either individually or in bulk. If you already work as a guestroom attendant, ask your housekeeping manager or HR department before buying anything. A $60 expense is small enough that many properties will approve it, especially if certification supports consistency in room-status coding, chemical safety, and cart organization across the team.

Classroom and instructor-led programs

START is offered in workbook and classroom formats in addition to online self-paced delivery, and AHLEI publishes a START Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA) Instructor Guide for instructors. If you are enrolled in a hospitality program at a school, workforce center, or vocational training provider, the cost may be folded into tuition or program fees. In that case, your out-of-pocket expense could be zero, though you should confirm what the program actually includes.

Self-funded candidates

If you are paying on your own, the $60 package is typically a one-time purchase. Because there is no listed prerequisite, you can buy it before you have a job in housekeeping, which is useful if you want a credential on your résumé when you apply. For ideas on where certified candidates find work, see our overview of CGA jobs.

Format and Language Options That Affect Your Purchase

The START program is offered online and self-paced as well as in workbook and classroom formats. The current START overview lists English, Spanish, and Simplified Mandarin availability for the program overall. However, the specific CGA product cited by AHLEI is offered in English and Spanish in current listings. If you are a Mandarin speaker, do not assume the Guestroom Attendant course is available in your language; check the product page directly before purchasing.

This matters for cost because choosing the wrong format or language can mean buying a second product. Verify three things at checkout:

  1. That the listing is for the Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA) position, not another START position.
  2. That the delivery format (online, workbook, or classroom) matches how you plan to study.
  3. That the language option matches your reading comfort, since the exam questions are multiple-choice and rely on clear reading of safety and procedure wording.

Key Takeaway

Confirm you are buying the Guestroom Attendant package specifically. START covers multiple hotel positions, and buying the wrong one is the easiest way to waste money on this credential.

Retakes, Validity, and Renewal: What Is Not Published

Honest cost planning means acknowledging what is unknown. Several details that matter for long-term budgeting are simply not specified in the current public AHLEI materials reviewed:

QuestionWhat Is Publicly Stated
Retake feeNot specified in the materials reviewed
Number of attempts allowedNot specified in the materials reviewed
Certification validity periodNot publicly specified
Renewal requirements and feesNot publicly specified
Published numbered exam version/yearNot published for the CGA
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Because the exam is bundled with the course, a failed attempt may be handled differently than at a testing center where you simply pay again for another seat. Rather than guess, contact AHLEI support or your sponsoring program and ask directly: how many attempts does the package include, and what does a retake cost if it is not included? If you want to understand the odds before you commit, our article on the CGA pass rate explains why public pass data is limited.

The same caution applies to expiration. Since validity and renewal terms are not published, do not assume the credential is lifetime or that it expires on a set schedule. Ask before you buy if long-term recognition matters to your employer.

Weighing the Cost Against the Career Value

At $60, the question is less "can I afford this?" and more "what will it do for me?" The honest answer depends on your situation, and we will not invent salary figures here. What can be said qualitatively:

  • For new entrants: A recognized credential from AHLEI, the educational arm connected with the American Hotel and Lodging Association, signals that you have formal training in room-status codes, chemical safety, and housekeeping procedures. That can help when you have little hotel experience to point to.
  • For current attendants: Certification documents what you already do and may support conversations about advancement, lead roles, or cross-training.
  • For employers: Certified staff offer a common, standardized vocabulary for tasks and safety, which supports consistent quality.

Because the barrier to entry is low, the credential works best as a foundation rather than a guaranteed pay raise. For a deeper discussion of earning potential and return on investment, read our CGA salary guide and the full ROI analysis on whether the CGA is worth it.

Building a Realistic CGA Budget

Here is a practical way to plan your spending without overpaying or under-preparing.

Step 1: Check for free coverage

Before paying, ask whether your employer, school, or workforce program will cover the package.

  • Ask your housekeeping manager or HR contact
  • Ask your instructor if you are in a hospitality program
  • Ask whether a bulk or group purchase is already in place

Step 2: Purchase the correct package

Buy the Certified Guestroom Attendant course-and-exam bundle, confirming format and language at checkout.

  • Verify the price against the current AHLEI listing
  • Confirm the exam is included, since it is not sold separately
  • Save your confirmation and access instructions

Step 3: Reserve a little for the unexpected

Because retake and renewal terms are not published, keep a small cushion in case you need a second attempt or later renewal.

  • Clarify retake policy with AHLEI or your program before testing
  • Ask whether any renewal or recertification step applies

A light study schedule tied to the three CGA sections

Because you are paying for a single bundle, it pays to spend your preparation time where the exam is most likely to test you. A simple plan keyed to the three START sections works well:

Week 1

All Employee Knowledge

  • Work through the general hotel-employee material first, since it frames everything else
  • Note any terms you will meet again in the position-specific content
Week 2

Position-Specific Knowledge

  • Focus on room-status codes, safe use of cleaning supplies and chemicals, and housekeeping safety and security
  • Practice scenario-style multiple-choice questions on these topics
Week 3

Job Breakdowns

  • Review the step-by-step task sequences, including organizing carts and work areas
  • Take a full 30-question, 1-hour practice run to check pacing against the 70% target

For more detail on how to prepare, see our CGA study guide, and when you are ready to test yourself, try the CGA practice tests to check your readiness before you sit the real exam. If you want to gauge how demanding the test is first, read how hard the CGA exam is.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the START CGA certification cost?

Current AHLEI listings show $60 for the START Certified Guestroom Attendant Online Course and Exam. This is the package price that includes both training material and the exam. Confirm the current price on the official AHLEI page before purchasing, as listings can change.

Can I buy the CGA exam without the course?

No. According to current AHLEI information, the exam is packaged with the training material and is not sold separately. You purchase the course and exam together as a single product.

Are there extra testing center or application fees?

The current AHLEI materials reviewed do not identify a third-party testing provider such as Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric, and no application fee or qualifying-position prerequisite is listed. The exam is delivered through the AHLEI/START packaged system. Check the checkout page for any program-specific charges.

What does a retake or renewal cost?

Retake fees, attempt limits, validity periods, and renewal requirements are not publicly specified in the current AHLEI materials reviewed. Contact AHLEI or your sponsoring employer or school to ask about retake terms and whether any renewal applies before you pay.

Will my employer pay for my CGA certification?

Many hotels and training programs cover START courses for staff, though this varies by property. Because the fee is modest, it is worth asking your manager or HR team first. Students in school or workforce programs may also find the cost included in their program. For more on the credential and where it can lead, see our pages on CGA training and CGA certification.

Ready to pass your CGA exam?

Put this into practice with free CGA questions across every exam domain.