CGA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CGA Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • START Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA) is delivered by AHLEI as a packaged online course and exam, not a fixed-date sitting.
  • Current AHLEI listings show $60 for the START Certified Guestroom Attendant Online Course and Exam; the exam is not sold separately.
  • The exam is 30 multiple-choice questions in 1 hour, with a 70% passing score.
  • No qualifying-position prerequisite appears on the current AHLEI certification page, so eligibility rarely delays your start.

How CGA Scheduling Actually Works

Search for "CGA exam dates 2026" and you will probably expect a table of testing windows, registration cutoffs and results release dates. That is how many professional credentials work. The START Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA) credential, offered by the American Hotel and Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI), is built differently. It is an entry-level credential that sits inside the START training program, and the exam is packaged with the training rather than scheduled as a standalone event at a testing center.

That distinction changes how you should think about "dates." For most candidates, the relevant questions are not "Which window do I register for?" but "When do I start the course, how long will I take to finish it, and when does my employer or school need the credential in hand?" This guide walks through what the current public AHLEI materials do and do not say, so you can plan realistically without relying on invented deadlines.

Identity check: This article covers the START Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA) credential from AHLEI, the hospitality credential for hotel housekeeping staff. Other credentials share the "CGA" acronym and have entirely different exam calendars, fees and bodies. If you are preparing for a guestroom attendant role, you are in the right place. For a plain-language overview, see What Is CGA? or What Does CGA Stand For?.

Why There Is No Fixed 2026 Testing Calendar

The current public AHLEI materials reviewed for this article do not publish a fixed set of 2026 testing windows, registration deadlines or late-fee cutoffs for the CGA. They also do not identify a third-party testing provider such as Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric. Instead, the exam is part of AHLEI's START packaged delivery, where the course and exam are purchased together and completed through the START format you choose.

In practical terms, that means:

  • No seasonal cutoffs published. You will not find "spring window" or "fall window" language on the current AHLEI certification page.
  • No separate exam registration. Because the exam is packaged with the training material and is not sold separately, you do not book a seat independently of the course.
  • No numbered exam version year. Current public AHLEI materials do not publish a numbered CGA exam-version year, so you should not expect a "2026 version" announcement to drive your timeline.
  • No publicly specified renewal clock. Validity and renewal terms are not specified in the AHLEI materials reviewed, so there is no published expiration date to plan a recertification around.

If you see a third-party site advertising specific 2026 CGA test dates, treat it with caution and verify against AHLEI directly. The honest answer from the public record is that scheduling is flexible and tied to the START product, not to a published national calendar.

Key Takeaway

Do not wait for a "testing window" to open. Because the course and exam are packaged together, your real deadline is whatever your employer, hotel, school or training program sets. Ask them first, then work backward.

Registration Mechanics: Fee, Format and Access

Here is what the current AHLEI listings establish about getting started, drawn from the AHLEI certification page, the START overview and the instructor guide listing.

ItemWhat Current AHLEI Materials Show
Governing bodyAmerican Hotel and Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI)
ProgramSTART, with Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA) as a position-specific certification
Fee$60 for the START Certified Guestroom Attendant Online Course and Exam
Sold separately?No, the exam is packaged with training material
Questions30 multiple-choice
Time limit1 hour
Passing score70%
PrerequisitesNo qualifying-position prerequisite listed on the current certification page
FormatsOnline/self-paced and workbook/classroom formats
LanguagesSTART overview lists English, Spanish and Simplified Mandarin for the program; the cited CGA product is listed in English and Spanish
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Two details deserve emphasis. First, the language note is easy to misread: the broader START program lists Simplified Mandarin, but the specific CGA product in current listings is offered in English and Spanish. If you need Mandarin materials, confirm availability for the CGA course specifically before you purchase. Second, the fee covers the online course and exam together. For a deeper look at what else might add to your cost, such as a workbook format or employer-arranged group purchasing, see CGA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Because no qualifying-position prerequisite is listed, you generally do not have to document prior work experience before enrolling. That removes one of the most common sources of scheduling delay in other credentials. The eligibility picture is covered in more detail in CGA Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

What You Face When You Sit the Exam

Whenever you choose to take it, the exam itself is compact: 30 multiple-choice questions in 1 hour, with 70% required to pass. That is roughly two minutes per question, which is generous for a test aimed at working housekeeping staff. Time pressure is rarely the obstacle. The more common issue is carelessness on safety and procedure questions where two answers look reasonable but only one reflects the correct sequence or the safe practice.

The START curriculum is organized into three headings, which this article uses as the working structure for preparation:

Domain 1: All Employee Knowledge

Foundational material that applies to every START position, not just guestroom attendants.

  • Expectations that apply across all hotel positions
  • Guest-facing professionalism and workplace conduct
  • General safety and security awareness common to all employees

Domain 2: Position-Specific Knowledge

What a guestroom attendant specifically needs to know to do the job well.

  • Room-status codes and what each one tells you
  • Safe use of cleaning supplies and chemicals
  • Housekeeping safety and security practices
  • Organizing carts and work areas efficiently

Domain 3: Job Breakdowns

Step-by-step task sequences for performing guestroom attendant duties correctly.

  • Ordered procedures for completing recurring housekeeping tasks
  • Why sequence matters for quality, safety and efficiency
  • Recognizing the correct next step in a task scenario

One caution: these three headings are the published START training sections for individual positions. They are unweighted preparation curriculum headings, not a percentage-weighted exam blueprint, and they should not be treated as an exhaustive statement of what every exam question covers. The current instructor guide identifies 19 key Guestroom Attendant tasks, which gives you a useful inventory of what the job (and therefore the training) emphasizes. For a fuller breakdown of each area, read CGA Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.

Why the format affects your timing: A 30-question, 1-hour exam is short enough that most of your calendar time goes to the course and review, not the test itself. Plan your date around when you can finish the training material comfortably, then attempt the exam while the content is fresh.

Timing Your Attempt Around Your Hiring Situation

Because there is no national testing calendar, the most useful "dates" are the ones set by the people who might hire or employ you. Guestroom attendants work in hotels, resorts, extended-stay properties and other lodging operations, and many properties use START to standardize training for new housekeeping staff. Your target date depends on which situation describes you.

If you are already employed in housekeeping

Ask your housekeeping manager or human resources contact whether the property sponsors the START course and exam, whether there is a preferred completion date, and whether it ties into a probation period, raise review or promotion cycle. Employers who purchase START access for teams often set internal deadlines that matter far more to you than any public calendar.

If you are job hunting

Completing the credential before you apply can strengthen a resume, especially for entry-level candidates with limited hotel experience. Since the course is self-paced online and the fee is modest, finishing before a hiring push is realistic. To see what roles the credential supports, browse CGA Jobs, and for pay context read the CGA Salary Guide 2026. If you are weighing whether it is worth the effort at all, Is the CGA Certification Worth It? lays out the return on investment.

If you are a student or career changer

Hospitality programs, workforce development agencies and community organizations sometimes use START as a short, structured entry point. Your timeline may follow a semester or cohort schedule rather than a personal one. Check with your instructor or program coordinator for any required completion date.

Scheduling for Instructor-Led Groups and Programs

The online course is only one delivery path. START is also offered in workbook and classroom formats, and AHLEI publishes a START Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA) Instructor Guide for people leading groups. That matters for dates because group delivery has its own rhythm: a facilitator typically sets class meetings, a review session and an exam administration day.

If you are in an instructor-led setting, your "exam date" is whatever your instructor schedules, and you should confirm:

  • Which format your class uses (workbook, classroom or online)
  • Whether the exam is taken during class time or on your own after finishing the material
  • Whether there is a make-up opportunity if you miss the scheduled session
  • What happens if you do not reach 70% on the first try (retake policy specifics are not detailed in the public materials reviewed, so ask your instructor or AHLEI)

For learners who prefer to understand the training side before committing, CGA Training covers what the instruction involves.

Sequencing the Three Domains Before Your Exam

Once you have a target date, the one place where structure genuinely helps is deciding what to study when. Because the exam is short and the content is practical, a compact plan works better than a long one. The sequence below follows the logic of the curriculum: build the shared foundation first, then the job-specific knowledge, then the step-by-step procedures that tie everything together.

Week 1

Domain 1: All Employee Knowledge

  • Work through the foundational course sections that apply to every hotel position
  • Note general safety and security principles, since these recur in later material
  • Take a short practice set to see how scenario-style questions are worded
Week 2

Domain 2: Position-Specific Knowledge

  • Memorize room-status codes and what each one means for your next action
  • Review safe use of cleaning supplies and chemicals, including what never to mix or store carelessly
  • Study housekeeping safety and security routines and cart and work-area organization
Week 3

Domain 3: Job Breakdowns, then full review

  • Practice recognizing correct task order, since sequence-based questions reward procedural fluency
  • Revisit your weakest items from Domains 1 and 2
  • Sit a full 30-question, 1-hour practice run to rehearse pacing

Why Domain 2 gets the heaviest attention: it contains the most distinctive, job-specific facts (status codes, chemical safety, cart organization), and those are the items a general hospitality background will not automatically cover. Many candidates with some housekeeping experience find Domain 3 intuitive because it mirrors what they already do, so you can compress that week if your experience is strong. If you are still deciding how much time you need, How Hard Is the CGA Exam? offers a realistic difficulty read, and the CGA Study Guide 2026 goes deeper on method. For a quick last-day refresher, keep the CGA Cheat Sheet handy.

You can also build confidence with realistic questions on the CGA practice test site, which is useful for checking whether the three-week plan above fits your current level or can be shortened.

Practical Deadline and Readiness Checklist

Since there are no published national deadlines to track, build your own. Work through these steps in order:

  1. Identify your real deadline. Ask your employer, school or program whether a completion date applies. If none does, set your own target based on a job application push or review date.
  2. Confirm the format and language. Decide between online/self-paced and workbook/classroom, and verify English or Spanish availability for the CGA product specifically.
  3. Budget the fee. Current AHLEI listings show $60 for the online course and exam package. Check whether your employer reimburses or pre-purchases access before you pay.
  4. Block study time. Three short weeks is a reasonable default for someone new to housekeeping; compress it if you already work in the field.
  5. Know the target. You need 70% on 30 multiple-choice questions, which means answering at least 21 correctly. See CGA Passing Score 2026 for the scoring detail.
  6. Verify renewal details. Because validity and renewal are not publicly specified in the materials reviewed, ask AHLEI or your employer whether and when anything needs to be refreshed.
  7. Keep proof of completion. Save any certificate or confirmation for your employer file and your resume.
A note on pass rates: AHLEI does not publicly disclose a CGA pass rate, so be wary of any site quoting a specific figure. For an honest look at what is and is not known, see CGA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

For readers still orienting themselves to the credential, CGA Certification and What Is CGA Certification? provide the broader background, and the main CGA Exam Prep practice test is the fastest way to test your readiness before you commit to a date.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there official CGA exam dates for 2026?

The current public AHLEI materials reviewed do not publish fixed 2026 testing windows for the START Certified Guestroom Attendant (CGA). The exam is packaged with the online course and training material, so your timing is set by when you enroll, when you finish the material, and any deadline from your employer or instructor.

Can I buy the CGA exam separately from the course?

No. Current AHLEI listings show the exam is packaged with the training material and is not sold separately. The listing price is $60 for the START Certified Guestroom Attendant Online Course and Exam.

How long is the CGA exam and what score do I need?

The exam has 30 multiple-choice questions and a 1-hour time limit, according to the current AHLEI certification page. The passing score is 70%, which equates to at least 21 of 30 questions answered correctly.

Do I need work experience before I can register?

The current AHLEI certification page lists no qualifying-position prerequisite. That means you generally do not need to prove prior housekeeping experience before enrolling, though your employer or program may have its own requirements.

Does the CGA expire, and when would I need to renew?

Validity and renewal terms are not publicly specified in the current AHLEI materials reviewed. Contact AHLEI or ask your employer whether any refresh is expected, rather than relying on unverified renewal claims from third-party sites.

Ready to pass your CGA exam?

Put this into practice with free CGA questions across every exam domain.